davidji's Blog

davidji's Blog

Awaken Your Power of Shakti

You have become so overflowing with love, with compassion, and you want to share. It happens at the fourth center, the heart. That’s why even in the ordinary world people think love comes out of the heart. For them it is just hearsay, they have heard   it; they don’t know it because they have never reached to their heart. But the meditator finally reaches to the heart. —O s H O

Welcome to this week’s edition of The Source, in which we explore the Sacred Powers of Transformation through the chakras.

In the ancient wisdom traditions, the Sacred Powers of Transformation were located in seven distinct energy centers located in the physical body. Modern acupuncture and acupressure practitioners use these meridians as healing points, and according to the ancient wisdom traditions of the Sufis in Persia, the Hindus in India, and the Hopi Indians of North America, these energetic convergences were domains of transformation and manifestation.

Ancient India referred to these energy centers as chakras (translated as “turnings” or “wheels”), and it was believed that these seven wheels of energy were the junction points between our physical, mental, and spiritual worlds, such that all the energy of the Universe converged at seven vortexes within the human body.

I find that a chakra tuning right before bedtime can be relaxing and rejuvenating at the same time. In Secrets of Meditation, I go into detail about chakras and their related colors.

Each chakra has a specific color associated with it, as well as a vibrational mantra that opens or tunes the energy flow in each of our energy centers. This tuning is similar to opening up additional lanes on a highway. When the traffic has broader bandwidth, it can flow more easily and quickly.

The world-renowned plant-spirit medicine healer, Karla Refoxo, spent many years living in Nepal exploring the origins of the ancient chakra practice. She worked with the indigenous people of Kathmandu to craft handmade chakra amulets that were then blessed by the living saint Mata and charged with healing energy. I am a fan (and wearer) of her powerfully charged amulets designed to awaken blocked energy in specific chakras.

Chakra meditation is powerful because it opens you up to a more universal flow at the level of your personal physiology, your emotional state, and your spiritual awareness. You can explore each of the seven main chakras in the book in a little more detail to set the foundation for the meditation. In the Vedic tradition, they start with the most earthbound and weighty and move upward to the more subtle, getting lighter and lighter until they reach the state of pure ether.

Also, many meditators have used Insight Timer, a free smartphone app and online community for meditation. And this month, in partnership with Insight Timer, I’ve launched a new online course Awaken the Power of Shakti

This course walks you through each chakra and is designed to simultaneously awaken your inner healer, cultivate your ability to manifest your dreams & desires & provide a beautiful platform for your meditation practice. As you continue through each lesson, you will experience the present moment in a new way. You will learn to cultivate your ability to connect with stillness & silence and your mind and body will begin to transform in really positive ways.

If you’d like to learn more about Insight Timer, click here. If you’d like to explore my chakra online course, click here.

Happy exploring!!! Peace. -davidji

Skip to content