davidji's Blog

davidji's Blog

The Five Kleshas

“Transform the world by transforming yourself.” -davidji

Hello Spiritual Warriors!! The only constant is change!!! So here’s the new weekly lineup to help you with your personal transformation.

Every Tuesday, you’ll receive my weekly blog – The Source – which will contain teachings, a video, special offers, and instruction on merging the timeless wisdom into your daily life.

Every Thursday, it’s LIVE! from the SweetSpot on Hay House Radio 11am PT; 2pm ET. This is an opportunity for us to connect mid-week and re-engage Tuesday’s lesson.

Every Saturday, you’ll receive a meditation from me to ease you through the weekend and into the new week.

Tuesday – a fresh new blog; Thursday – Hay House Radio; Saturday – Meditation


So settle in and let’s dive into Secrets of Meditation – Exploring the Five Kleshas. When you look at all your accomplishments, successes, or celebrations in life — there are common threads that run through each. When we thrive and experience abundance, it’s because our intentions, our heart, and our actions are fully aligned with the flow of the universe.

When we stumble, feel pain, or find ourselves in suffering, there are commonalities that co-create those events as well. Those common threads that run through our non-nourishing choices, our emotional pain, & our reactive thinking have been woven through you for many years. They are part of our conditioning and self-domestication. But they are also universal – and run through all of us.

These common threads were first identified thousands of years ago in the most ancient teachings of the Vedas. In Sanskrit they are referred to as the pancha kleshas – or the five obstacles – translated literally – they are the five poisons. In fact, Vedanta says that it is our un-enlightened or illusionary thinking that brings us to decisions that we regret, interpretations that limit us, and ongoing emotional pain & suffering.

The Five Kleshas are:

1. Ignorance (in the form of a misunderstanding reality) known in Sanskrit as ávidyā,
2. Egoism (in the form of an mistaken identification of the Self with the intellect) known in Sanskrit as asmitā,
3. Attachment known in Sanskrit as rāga,
4. Aversion known in Sanskrit as dveṣa, and
5. Fear of death known in Sanskrit as abhiniveśāḥ.

These are mental states that cloud the mind and manifest in unwholesome actions. Kleshas include states of mind such as anxiety, fear, anger, jealousy, desire, regret, and depression, essentially non-nourishing emotions. You may want to look at each klesha and see how they are blocking you from happiness, success, fulfillment, or love.
In the Yoga Sutras, Patanjali teaches that: “The goal of Yoga is not to obtain something that is lacking: it is the realization of an already present reality. Yoga practice removes the obstacles that obstruct the experience of Samadhi, or the state of complete absorption.”

As humans, we all struggle with these five mind poisons. But a daily meditation practice can help you navigate through the sometimes, treacherous waters of the kleshas. So this week commit to meditating at least once in the morning and once in the afternoon – you determine what style of meditation and the length of your practice. But by simply committing to connecting to the stillness & silence within, you WILL SUFFER LESS this week.

Join me Thursday, at our new day & time on Hay House Radio & we will go deep into lifting the veil of pain & suffering. In the meantime, I’ll see you in the gap! Peace. -d

Live in or near Denver, CO? Join me and my fellow Hay House Authors at the I Can Do It! conference and get a little higher in mind, body, & spirit!

Colorado Convention Center March 28 - 30, 2014
Colorado Convention Center
March 28 – 30, 2014
Skip to content