Get 300+ FREE guided meditations instantly! And so much more ...

Cultivate a Better You

6 Stages of Disease – Don’t wait for #6

Jim McDonell
davidji Certified Teacher 

Watching the Heal documentary inspired me to share the Ayurvedic 6 Stages of Disease. It is vitally important to keep our Dosha balanced so that it does not progress into disease.

#1 Initial stage

Imbalance is situated in the gastrointestinal tract and is best treated with diet. This stage is relatively minor and often the body’s own wisdom corrects the imbalance.

#2 Buildup stage

If balance is not restored, toxicity (ama) spreads into the circulatory system. Symptoms at this stage are a sense of being mildly uncomfortable. Most of us ignore these symptoms or suppress them with over-the-counter medications.

#3 Spreading stage

Toxins journey through the main circulatory systems of the body causing additional symptoms. These symptoms often become chronic.

#4 Accumulation stage

This is when toxins, after moving through the circulatory system, find a weak spot and settle. According to Ayurveda this is the beginning of actual disease.

#5 Manifestation Stage

At this stage western medicine will give a patient a clinical diagnosis. The actual structure of the tissues begins to break down making it difficult to reverse the progression of the disease.

#6 Complications Stage

The tissue is severely damaged and may begin to affect the surrounding tissues resulting in additional complications.

Contact Monique at least once a year for your Dosha assessment.
About the authors – Jim & Monique co-author blog material for Essential Ayurveda.

Monique is a NAMA certified Ayurvedic Practitioner and the founder of Essential Ayurveda, a wellness practice in northwest Chicago.

Jim teaches Meditation and is certified through the davidji Masters of Wisdom & Meditation Teacher Training program. Jim is the Business Manager for Essential Ayurveda.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *